Advisors & Office Hours

Attention: The College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) is providing services remotely for students, faculty and staff during the University's ongoing campus closure:

Contacts for School of Cinema | VR Tour | Cinema Response to COVID-19 | University Updates on COVID-19

Undergraduates new to Cinema advising should choose an advisor based on the list below: 

If your last name begins with A-K: Boswell, Gorzycki, Green, Hoxter, or Jackson

If your last name begins with L-P: Kerner, Kovacs, Lau, McBride, Morrissey, Nevill, or Park

If your last name begins with Q-Z: Ramirez-Soto, Ridgway, Rutsky, Sjogren, Snider, Sparks, or Symons

For the Animation Minor: Gorzycki, Ridgway

For Internships: Bernardi

For Study Abroad: Hoxter

MFA Graduate Advisor: Zhang

MA Graduate Advisor:  Choe

School Director:  Shimizu

Please email faculty advisors in advance to make an appointment or stop by during their open office hours.  

All Advisors
Name Office Phone Room E-mail Advising Hours
Daniel Bernardi 405-3595 FA 517 bernardi@sfsu.edu by appointment only
Scott Boswell 338-6548 FA 549 sboswell@sfsu.edu Monday 1 - 3PM  by appt.  https://wejoinin.com/sheets/sakpj
Steve Choe 338-1072 FA 427 stevec3@sfsu.edu Monday 3 - 5PM 
Martha Gorzycki 338-1879 FA 335 gorzycki@sfsu.edu Tuesday 1 - 4PM
Laura Green 338-6515 FA 426 lagreen@sfsu.edu Wednesday 4 - 7PM
Julian Hoxter 338-1298 FA 341 hoxterj@gmail.com Wednesday 3:30 - 5:30PM
Pat Jackson 405‐3420 FA 441 pjackson@sfsu.edu ON LEAVE
Aaron Kerner 405-3972 FA 319 amkerner@sfsu.edu Tuesday 10AM - 12PM
Steven Kovacs 405-0371 FA 339 stevkov@aol.com ON LEAVE 
Jenny Lau 338-2518 FA 439 jlau3000@gmail.com Monday 3:30 - 4:30PM, Wednesday 3:30 - 4:30PM, or by appt.
Joe McBride 405-2179 BH 265 joemac809@gmail.com Thursday 3 - 5PM
Katherine Morrissey 338-6522 FA 422 kmorrissey@sfsu.edu Tuesday 1 - 3PM, by appt. & Wednesday 1 - 3PM, by appt.
Alexander Nevill 338-1700 FA 413 anevill@sfsu.edu ON LEAVE
Rosa Park 338-3059 FA 545 rosapark@sfsu.edu Thursday 2PM - 4PM
Elizabeth Ramirez-Soto 405-3414 FA 415 eramirezsoto@sfsu.edu Wednesday 1:30 - 3:30PM 
Ben Ridgway  405‐2169 FA 343 bridgway@sfsu.edu

ON LEAVE

R.L. Rutsky 405-3400 EP 423 rlrutsky@sfsu.edu Wednesday 3:30 - 5:30PM & Thursday 2:30 - 3:30PM
Celine Shimizu 338-1629 FA 245 shimizu@sfsu.edu Tuesday 11:30AM -12:30PM & Wednesday 1:30 - 2:30PM
Britta Sjogren   FA 421 britta@sfsu.edu ON LEAVE
Greta Snider 338-6529 FA 337 greta@sfsu.edu

Thursday 10:00AM-12:00PM

Bethany Sparks 338-7323 FA 543 bethanysparks@sfsu.edu

Friday 1 - 3PM

Johnny Symons 405-2841 FA 546 symons@sfsu.edu Thursday 2:30 - 4:30PM
Weimin Zhang 405-3410 FA 346 weimin@sfsu.edu Wednesday 2 - 4PM