Advising

Students are encouraged to meet with a faculty advisor upon entrance to the Core classes in their sophomore year, and then regularly throughout their progress through the major. All full-time faculty serve as advisors for the major. Students must also meet with an advisor upon applying for graduation.

Please Note: During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone and Zoom. Reach out to us for continued support!

 

Please email faculty advisors in advance to make an appointment or stop by during their open office hours.

Fall 2022 Advising Hours
Advisor Email Office Phone All Office Hours Via Zoom
Daniel Bernardi bernardi@sfsu.edu FA 517 (415) 405-3595 Appointment Only
Scott Boswell sboswell@sfsu.edu FA 549 (415) 338-6548 Thursday 10 a.m. - noon
Schedule appt. with Prof. Boswell
Steve Choe stevec3@sfsu.edu FA 427 (415) 338-1072 On Leave
Rafael Flores raflores@sfsu.edu FA 413   Friday 10 a.m. - noon
Email for appointment
Martha Gorzycki gorzycki@sfsu.edu FA 335 (415) 338-1879 Wednesday 1 - 3 p.m.
Sign up via Wejoin
Artel Great artelgreat@sfsu.edu FA 431   Email for appointment
Laura Green lagreen@sfsu.edu FA 426 (415) 338-6515 Schedule appt. with Prof. Green
Julian Hoxter hoxterj@gmail.com FA 341 (415) 338-1298 Email for appointment
Aaron Kerner amkerner@sfsu.edu  FA 245A (415) 405-3972 Wednesday 9 -10 a.m. (in person)
OR Email for appointment
Jenny Lau jlau3000@yahoo.com FA 439 (415) 338-2518 Email for appointment
Joe McBride joemac809@gmail.com BH 265 (415) 405-2179 Monday & Thursday 2:30 - 3:30 p.m.
Sign up via Calendly
Mihaela Mihailova mihailova@sfsu.edu FA 346   Wednesday 1 - 3 p.m.
Email for appointment
Rosa Park rosapark@sfsu.edu FA 545 (415) 338-3059 On Leave
Elizabeth Ramirez-Soto eramirezsoto@sfsu.edu FA 415 (415) 405-3414 Email for appointment
Ben Ridgway bridgway@sfsu.edu  FA 343 (415) 405-2169 Friday 1 -3 p.m.
Schedule appt. with Prof. Ridgway
R.L. Rutsky rlrutsky@sfsu.edu  EP 423 (415) 405-3400 On Leave
Nicole Rae Shaw nraeshaw@sfsu.edu FA 441   Email for appointment
Britta Sjogren britta@sfsu.edu FA 421   On Leave
Greta Snider greta@sfsu.edu FA 337 (415) 338-6529 Email for appointment
Bethany Sparks bethanysparks@sfsu.edu FA 543 (415) 338-7323 Email for appointment
Johnny Symons symons@sfsu.edu FA 546 (415) 405-2841 Schedule appt. with Prof. Symons
Mayuran Tiruchelvam mayuran@sfsu.edu FA 433   Schedule appt. with Prof. Tiruchelvam
Weimin Zhang weimin@sfsu.edu FA 339 (415) 405-3410 Thursday 2 - 4 p.m.
Sign up via Wejoin
         
       Animation        
Martha Gorzycki gorzycki@sfsu.edu FA 335 (415) 338-1879 Wednesday 1 - 3 p.m.
Sign up via Wejoin
Ben Ridgway bridgway@sfsu.edu  FA 343 (415) 405-2169 Friday 1 - 3 p.m.
Schedule appt. with Prof. Ridgway
         
       Internships        
Daniel Bernardi bernardi@sfsu.edu FA 517 (415) 405-3595 Email for appointment
         
    Masters of Arts        
Elizabeth Ramirez-Soto eramirezsoto@sfsu.edu FA 427 (415) 338-1072 Email for appointment
         
Masters of Fine Arts        
Johnny Symons symons@sfsu.edu FA 346 (415) 405-3410 Schedule appt. with Prof. Symons
         

 

CINE 690 petition steps

  1. Instructor sends completed petition with an unofficial transcript to Connie Carranza (ccarranz@sfsu.edu) and the Director of Cinema
  2. Director approves it over email
  3. It is sent to Registrar

CINE 699/899 Independent Studies steps

  1. Instructor sends completed petition with an unofficial transcript to Connie Carranza (ccarranz@sfsu.edu) and the Director of Cinema
  2. Director approves it over email
  3. It is sent to College

There are several forms that you will need for advising, they can all be found on our Forms section of this website:

  • The Cinema Advising Fact Sheet provides an overview of the requirements to complete the Bachelor of Arts degree in the School of Cinema. It will also help students pick classes that meet their needs and interests within the major. This document covers:
    • Cinema Major Overview: Year-by-year breakdown
    • Transfer Students
    • Picking your classes
    • Graduation Application
    • Cinema and Animation Minors
       
  • The Blue Sheet is also an important tool for tracking progress through the major. Students may use it as a “road map” to graduating.

Both of these forms are available in the forms section of this website.

Two people working and writing together

Undergraduate Advising

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisors each semester:

  1. an advisor in the major and
  2. a general education and university requirements advisor in the Advising Resource Center (ARC) for LCA

Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an advisor in those programs as well.

Graduation cap on person with hand up

Graduate Advising

The Division of Graduate Studies offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

Visit the Graduate Advising Center

Man and Woman sitting together outside looking at paper and smiling

General Education and University Requirements

Advising Resource Center 'The ARC' logo

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

Additional Resources