Advising

Students are encouraged to meet with a faculty advisor upon entrance to the Core classes in their sophomore year, and then regularly throughout their progress through the major. All full-time faculty serve as advisors for the major. Students must also meet with an advisor upon applying for graduation.

Please Note: During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone and Zoom. Reach out to us for continued support!

 

Please email faculty advisors in advance to make an appointment or stop by during their open office hours.

Spring 2022 Advising Hours
Name Office Phone Room E-mail Advising Hours
Daniel Bernardi (415) 405-3595 FA 517 bernardi@sfsu.edu Thursday 3-4:30 p.m. and by email for an appointment
Scott Boswell (415) 338-6548 FA 549 sboswell@sfsu.edu

Thursday 10-noon, schedule with Navigator for Prof. Boswell

Steve Choe (415) 338-1072 FA 427 stevec3@sfsu.edu Monday 1-3 p.m. Prof. Choe's Zoom
Martha Gorzycki (415) 338-1879 FA 335 gorzycki@sfsu.edu

Wednesdays 1-3 p.m.  Sign up for time at Prof. Gorzycki's WeJoin

Artel Great   TBA artelgreat@sfsu.edu Thursday 2-3 p.m., Prof. Great's Zoom
Laura Green (415) 338-6515 FA 426 lagreen@sfsu.edu Thursdays 2-3 p.m., Prof. Green's Calendly
Julian Hoxter (415) 338-1298 FA 341 hoxterj@gmail.com

Email hoxterj@gmail.com for an appointment. Prof. Hoxter's Zoom

Pat Jackson (415) 405‐3420 FA 441 pjackson@sfsu.edu

 

Aaron Kerner (415) 405-3972 FA 319 amkerner@sfsu.edu

Make office hour appointment via email amkerner@sfsu.edu

Jenny Lau (415) 338-2518 FA 439

 jlau3000@yahoo.com

Tuesday 2:30-3:30 p.m. via email or Prof. Lau's Zoom
Meeting ID: 811 9878 6242, Passcode: 247651

Joe McBride (415) 405-2179 BH 265 joemac809@gmail.com

Mondays 2:30-3:30 p.m and Thursdays 2:30-3:30p.m. Other appointments can be set by request at Prof. McBride's Calendly

Mihaela M. Mihailova     mihailova@sfsu.edu

Tuesdays 1-3 p.m on Zoom and by appointment

Rosa Park (415) 338-3059 FA 545 rosapark@sfsu.edu

Tuesdays 1-3 p.m. by email for an appointment, Prof. Park's Zoom

Elizabeth Ramirez-Soto (415) 405-3414 FA 415 eramirezsoto@sfsu.edu Thursdays 2-4 p.m. p.m., Prof. Ramirez-Soto's Zoom
Ben Ridgway  (415) 405‐2169 FA 343 bridgway@sfsu.edu

Friday 1-3 p.m. - email for an appointment; Prof. Ridgway's Zoom

Prof. Ridgway's Wejoinin office hours

R.L. Rutsky (415) 405-3400 EP 423 rlrutsky@sfsu.edu

On Leave  

Britta Sjogren   FA 421 britta@sfsu.edu

Wednesdays 1-3 p.m., Prof. Sjogren's Zoom

Greta Snider (415) 338-6529 FA 337 greta@sfsu.edu

Fridays 1:30-3:30 p.m., Prof. Snider's Zoom link with Wait Room, password: 902915

Bethany Sparks (415) 338-7323 FA 543 bethanysparks@sfsu.edu

Mondays 11 a.m.-1 p.m. or by appointment, Prof. Spark's Wejoinin office hours 

Johnny Symons (415) 405-2841 FA 546 symons@sfsu.edu

Tuesday 12:30-1:30 p.m. or by appointment, Prof. Symons' Wejoinin

Mayuran Tiruchelvam   TBA mayuran@sfsu.edu

Wednesday 4-5 p.m. or by appointment, Prof. Tiruchelvam's Calendly

Weimin Zhang (415) 405-3410 FA 346 weimin@sfsu.edu

Thursday 2-4 p.m., Prof. Zhang's Wejoinin

CINE 690 petition steps

  1. Instructor sends completed petition with an unofficial transcript to Connie Carranza (ccarranz@sfsu.edu) and the Director of Cinema
  2. Director approves it over email
  3. It is sent to Registrar

CINE 699/899 Independent Studies steps

  1. Instructor sends completed petition with an unofficial transcript to Connie Carranza (ccarranz@sfsu.edu) and the Director of Cinema
  2. Director approves it over email
  3. It is sent to College

There are several forms that you will need for advising, they can all be found on our Forms section of this website:

  • The Cinema Advising Fact Sheet provides an overview of the requirements to complete the Bachelor of Arts degree in the School of Cinema. It will also help students pick classes that meet their needs and interests within the major. This document covers:
    • Cinema Major Overview: Year-by-year breakdown
    • Transfer Students
    • Picking your classes
    • Graduation Application
    • Cinema and Animation Minors
       
  • The Blue Sheet is also an important tool for tracking progress through the major. Students may use it as a “road map” to graduating.

Both of these forms are available in the forms section of this website.

Two people working and writing together

Undergraduate Advising

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisors each semester:

  1. an advisor in the major and
  2. a general education and university requirements advisor in the Advising Resource Center (ARC) for LCA

Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an advisor in those programs as well.

Graduation cap on person with hand up

Graduate Advising

The Division of Graduate Studies offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

Visit the Graduate Advising Center

Man and Woman sitting together outside looking at paper and smiling

General Education and University Requirements

Advising Resource Center 'The ARC' logo

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

Additional Resources