Advising

Students are encouraged to meet with a faculty advisor upon entrance to the Core classes in their sophomore year, and then regularly throughout their progress through the major. All full-time faculty serve as advisors for the major. Students must also meet with an advisor upon applying for graduation.

Please email faculty advisors in advance to make an appointment or stop by during their open office hours.

Fall 2023 Advising Hours
Advisor Email Office Phone All Office Hours Via Zoom
Daniel Bernardi bernardi@sfsu.edu FA 517 (415) 405-3595 Email for appointment
Scott Boswell sboswell@sfsu.edu FA 549 (415) 338-6548 Thursday 10 a.m. – 12 p.m.

Steve Choe stevec3@sfsu.edu FA 427 (415) 338-1072 Email for appointment
Rafael Flores raflores@sfsu.edu FA 413   Thursdays 10 a.m. – 12 p.m., or by appointment
Martha Gorzycki gorzycki@sfsu.edu FA 335 (415) 338-1879

Wednesday 1 – 3 p.m. in FA335 or via Zoom

Artel Great artelgreat@sfsu.edu FA 431   Thursdays 2 – 3 p.m. or by appointment
Laura Green lagreen@sfsu.edu FA 426 (415) 338-6515 TBA

Julian Hoxter hoxterj@gmail.com FA 341 (415) 338-1298

Email for Zoom appointment

Aaron Kerner amkerner@sfsu.edu  FA 245A (415) 405-3972 Monday 12:30 – 2:30 p.m.
Jenny Lau jlau3000@yahoo.com FA 439 (415) 338-2518

On Leave

Mihaela Mihailova

mihailova@sfsu.edu

FA 346

  On Leave
Joe McBride joemac809@gmail.com BH 265 (510) 883-0360

Monday 2:30 – 3:30 p.m.
Thursday 2:30 – 3:30 p.m. by Zoom or phone

Rosa Park rosapark@sfsu.edu FA 545 (415) 338-3059 Wednesday 11 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Ben Ridgway bridgway@sfsu.edu  FA 343 (415) 405-2169 Friday 1 – 3 p.m., or email for an appointment

R.L. Rutsky rlrutsky@sfsu.edu  EP 423 (415) 405-3400 On Leave
Nicole Rae Shaw nraeshaw@sfsu.edu FA 441   Appointments must be made 48 hours in advance.
Britta Sjogren britta@sfsu.edu FA 421   On Leave
Greta Snider greta@sfsu.edu FA 337 (415) 338-6529 On Leave
Bethany Sparks bethanysparks@sfsu.edu FA 543 (415) 338-7323 Email for an appointment.
Johnny Symons symons@sfsu.edu FA 546 (415) 405-2841

On Leave

Mayuran Tiruchelvam mayuran@sfsu.edu FA 433  

Wednesday by appointment

Weimin Zhang weimin@sfsu.edu FA 339 (415) 405-3410 On Leave
Animation        
Martha Gorzycki gorzycki@sfsu.edu FA 335 (415) 338-1879 Wednesday 1 – 3 p.m. in FA335 or via Zoom

Ben Ridgway bridgway@sfsu.edu  FA 343 (415) 405-2169 Friday 1 – 3 p.m., by email for an appointment

Internships        
Daniel Bernardi bernardi@sfsu.edu FA 517 (415) 405-3595 Email for appointment
Masters of Arts        
Daniel Bernardi bernardi@sfsu.edu FA 517 (415) 405-3595 Email for appointment
Masters of Fine Arts        
Laura Green lagreen@sfsu.edu FA 426 (415) 338-6515

Thursdays 2 – 3 p.m., via Zoom, or by appointment

CINE 690 petition steps

  1. Instructor sends completed petition with an unofficial transcript to Connie Carranza (ccarranz@sfsu.edu) and the Director of Cinema
  2. Director approves it over email
  3. It is sent to Registrar

CINE 699/899 Independent Studies steps

  1. Instructor sends completed petition with an unofficial transcript to Connie Carranza (ccarranz@sfsu.edu) and the Director of Cinema
  2. Director approves it over email
  3. It is sent to College

There are several forms that you will need for advising, they can all be found on our Forms section of this website:

  • The Cinema Advising Fact Sheet provides an overview of the requirements to complete the Bachelor of Arts degree in the School of Cinema. It will also help students pick classes that meet their needs and interests within the major. This document covers:

    • Cinema Major Overview: Year-by-year breakdown
    • Transfer Students
    • Picking your classes
    • Graduation Application
    • Cinema and Animation Minors
       
  • The Blue Sheet is also an important tool for tracking progress through the major. Students may use it as a “road map” to graduating.

Both of these forms are available in the forms section of this website.

Two people working and writing together

Undergraduate Advising

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisors each semester:

  1. an advisor in the major and
  2. a general education and university requirements advisor in the Undergraduate Advising Center.

Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an advisor in those programs as well.

Graduation cap on person with hand up

Graduate Advising

The Division of Graduate Studies offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

Visit the Graduate Advising Center